Winners Announced in Nebraska Public Media Kids Writing Contest

June 9, 2022, 11 a.m. ·

PBS KIDS Writers Contest
Kindergarten student Jocelyn Morford won first place in the 2022 Nebraska Public Media PBS KIDS Writers Contest with her story entitled 'How Mingo Changed The World'

A dozen kindergarten through 3rd graders from across Nebraska were honored for their writing in the 2022 Nebraska Public Media PBS KIDS Writers Contest.

Students from each grade received first through third place awards. The stories included tales of dreams coming true to being proud to be different and unique. The winning entries came from more than 140 that were submitted from schools across 30 Nebraska towns.

Kindergarten winner Jocelyn Morford took first place for her story 'How Mingo Changed The World'. It told the story of a bird who changed colors and was worried she wouldn't be accepted by her friends, only to find out her friends celebrated her differences.

Below is the complete list of winners:


First – “How Mingo Changed the World” by Jocelyn Morford, Ashland

Second – “The Rainbow Crayons” by Zella Thornburg, Pickrell

Third – “Bobby Bee” by Phoebe Williams, Broken Bow

First Grade

First – “Ruby and the Big Race” by Tessa Clements, Kearney

Second – “A Leprechaun named Max” by Josephine Laughlin, Omaha

Third – “The Darkness” by Adeline Hartman, Dixon

Second Grade

First – “Hawk, Mouse, and Snake: a Story of Misunderstanding and Friendship” by Mina Thomas, Lincoln

Second – “Floating Furniture and the Flood” by Jillian Morford, Ashland

Third – “A Good Goalie” by Henry Gonnerman, Lincoln

Third Grade

First – “Lights, Camera, the Amazon!” by Emelia Howell, Bennington

Second – “The Arrogant Tree” by Mathias Hatch-Tocaimaza, Omaha

Third – “The Adventures of Minty and Carrie” by Aspen Nielsen, Cairo

First place winners in each grade level will receive an iPad plus a PBS KIDS prize package. Second and third place winners at each grade level will receive a PBS KIDS prize package.

To see animated versions of all four first-place winners, click here.