UNK Students Named as Finalists for College Media Awards

Jan. 28, 2019, 10:24 a.m. ·

Three students and a student theater organization from the University of Nebraska at Kearney have been nominated as finalists for the prestigious College Media Awards for excellence in broadcasting.

UNK students Austin Jacobsen and Evan Jones have been nominated in the category for best play-by-play and best sports pregame and postgame show. Haley Pierce has been nominated for best public affairs program, while the Theatre of the Mind student organization has been nominated for best radio drama.

Ford Clark, general manager of KLNR student radio at UNK and senior lecturer at the school, said he started entering students into the competition four years ago. He said the hard work of his students is unmatched.

“They want to go out and make this huge difference in the world," Clark said. "I know UNK’s slogan is to be difference makers, but they really take that to heart."

The awards will be presented at the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System conference in New York City on March 2.