Nebraska Public Media Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards

For Immediate Release

Nebraska Public Media Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards

LINCOLN, Neb. (May 24, 2022) – Nebraska Public Media earned four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

The awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news and are given to honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism.

Awards for small radio market included: “Memorial Quilt Collection in Lincoln Adds Perspective to the Losses of 9/11” in feature reporting; “‘It’s Scary.’ Nebraska Prison Staff Share Fears of Violence” in investigative reporting; “Center of Gravity” for podcast and overall excellence for the Nebraska Public Media news team.

The region includes Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri and Iowa. These winners will now compete for national Murrow Awards to be announced this summer.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

# # #

MEDIA CONTACTS: Sandi Karstens, 402-470-6578

About Nebraska Public Media

Nebraska Public Media has been dedicated to connecting Nebraskans through news, sports, education, and entertainment for nearly 70 years. Providing global news and compelling stories from PBS and NPR, Nebraska Public Media also produces award-winning original content. Its programs and services reach 1 million people each month across the state on television, radio, online and mobile platforms. Visit for more information.